CSU’s ITSO Receives Platinum Award from IPOPHL for 2020 Achievements

Printer-friendly versionSend by emailPDF version

Caraga State University’s Innovation and Technology Support Office (ITSO) received a Platinum Recognition Award, the highest award rewarded by the Intellectual Property Office of the Philippines (IPOPHL) for the 2020 top and high-performing ITSOs in the country during the recent KaIPhan, a unique online meeting organized by IPOPHL.

No less than the Director-General Atty. Rowel C. Barba gave out the award to CSU’s ITSO Team represented by Engr. Jeffrey T. Dellosa, the Technology Transfer and Licensing Office (TTLO) Director, and co-designated as the ITSO Manager. This is the first time IPOPHL gave away recognition awards to achieving ITSOs under the ITSO 2.0 Program. The University’s ITSO is among the more than 100 ITSO higher education institutions (HEIs) in the country today.

The 2020 Platinum Recognition Award was given to the ITSOs, which achieved more than six (6) invention patent applications and have commercialized or assisted in commercializing at least one technology through licensing, including the establishment of a spin-off company. Despite the onslaught of the COVID-19 pandemic, this did not stop the University’s ITSO from filing eight (8) invention patents and successfully commercialized the Integrated Campus Enrolment (ICE) System and Financial Automation Resource Management (FARM) System through the Information and Communications Technology (ICT) Center led by Dr. Rolyn C. Daguil.

The patents filed mainly were related to food technology, industrial, electronics, and agricultural engineering outputs from the University’s research and development. The ICT Center sold two (2) information systems worth more than Php 4 million with another state university, highlighting future technology commercialization potential.

Apart from the invention patents applied and technology commercialized, the ITSO Team organized several local and regional webinars and national webinars co-organized with the DOST PCIEERD RITTD, DLSU, UP Diliman, and Mapua University during the pandemic. These webinars were attended by more than 4000 participants from the University and other participants from other higher education institutions (HEIs). These numbers helped CSU achieved its target in the number of training participants.

Engr. Dellosa, on behalf of the University’s ITSO Team, acknowledged the leadership and full support of the University’s top management and other officials led by Dr. Anthony M. Penaso, University President. The Team also thanked the help of Dr. Rowena P. Varela, the Vice President of Research, Innovation, and Extension (OVPRIE), where the TTLO and ITSO offices are connected. Engr. Dellosa also thanked the entire TTLO & ITSO Teams in the University, including Dr. Flordeliza Alburo, ITSO/TTLO Head of CSU Cabadbaran City, and all the designated Technical Experts (TE) and Associate TE: Engr. Lawrence Grana, Mr. Kenneth L. Ciudad, Atty. Dianah Jee S. Canumay, Engr. Jack Bertulfo, Engr. Jayson Loreto, Ms. Joylyn de la Cruz, and Mr. Alvin Sevilla.

The University’s TTLO/ITSO is part of the IPOPHL and WIPO’s Enabling the IP Environment since 2017. President Penaso, in the 2017 Presidents’ Summit, organized by WIPO in South Korea, pledged to fully support the University’s ITSO in terms of human capital requirements. The same offices are part of the DOST PCIEERD RITTD’s IMPACT Program and DOST PCAARRD’s IP-TBM 2 universities.

The IPOPHL is a government agency mandated to administer and implement state policies on intellectual property (IP)  to strengthen the country's IP rights. With the aim towards a creative and innovative country, IPOPHL implemented a clustering and reward system for its academic partners' network to push to go beyond publishing and shifting of creating new products. Under the classification system, the Innovation and Technology Support Office (ITSO) members were grouped into four (4) depending on their competencies; Bronze, Silver, Gold, and Platinum.

During the same KaIPihan meeting, IPOPHL announced that they are in talks with the Department of Budget Management (DBM). The clustering program shall be included in the future State University and Colleges (SUC) Levelling. Presently, CSU is one of the five universities in Mindanao with SUC Level 4 status.

Aside from CSU’s ITSO, the other universities which received the Platinum Award were the Samar State University (SSU) and the Central Mindanao University (CMU). Also awarded with the Gold Award was the University of Southeastern Philippines (USEP), Eastern Visayas State University (EVSU), and the Cavite State University (CavSU).

Prepared by Ms. Maydejan Cubol

Admin Staff, TTLO